CCC certification : a safety mark for many products imported, sold or used in the Chinese market


The CCC Mark (China Compulsory Certificate mark) is a compulsory safety mark for many products imported, sold or used in the Chinese market

The CCC Mark is administered by the Chinese government agency Certification and Accreditation Administration (CNCA). The China Quality Certification Center (CQC) is designated by CNCA to process CCC mark applications.

1. Does your products require CCC marking?

First, examine CNCA’s product catalogue and determine whether your products, or component parts within your finished goods, require CCC marking. The product catalogue is a list, originally divided into 132 broad product categories, of all the products requiring CCC marking. (Products concerned by the CCC)

2. What is the implementing regulations?

CNCA has published 47 « Implementation Rules for Compulsory Certification. » The booklets outline detailed technical application requirements for each of the product categories.

3. Who can help you to apply?

Different solutions for assisting a company can be envisaged such as for example the use of agents, consultants, importers or distributors.

4. How to apply?

There are five major steps in the CCC mark application process. If your company elects to handle the application process, your first step should be to visit the website of the China Quality Certification Center (CQC), which administers the CCC mark application process.

The five-step application process includes:

  1. Submission of an application and supporting materials, including user guides, CB reports, EMC reports, regulatory labels and other information.
  2. Type Testing. A CNCA-designated test laboratory in China will test product samples.
  3. Factory Inspection. CQC will send representatives to inspect the manufacturing facilities for your product. They will inspect each factory producing your product (e.g. If your company manufactures Product Z in five separate factories, all of which ship product to China, you will need to have five separate factory inspections).
  4. Evaluation of certification results, and approval (or failure or retesting).
  5. Follow-up Factory Inspection. Manufacturing facilities for the product will be re-inspected by Chinese officials every 12-18 months.

5. Note Other Chinese Licensing Requirements

Like many countries, China has multiple certification schemes. Though the CCC mark is the widest-ranging certification requirement, your product may have to meet other requirements as well. For example, China’s Ministry of Information Industry regulates telecom and internet equipment, and for certain equipment requires manufacturers to obtain a « Network Access License » and « Network Access Identifier Mark, » which includes requirements for testing in Chinese test laboratories. Similarly, China’s State Drug Administration requires product registration for certain medical devices.

Some remarks regarding the application process for the CCC mark :

  1. can take sixty to ninety days or longer;
  2. requires testing at accredited laboratories in China;
  3. generally does not permit self certification or third-party testing results;
  4. requires submission of numerous technical documents;
  5. requires submission of a product sample to a Chinese testing laboratory;
  6. requires a factory inspection by Chinese officials at the applicant’s expense;
  7. requires follow-up inspections every twelve to eighteen months; and
  8. can cost several thousand dollars.



Consultez nos autres articles